It’s All Over

Well my friends, this is it.

I’ve finished University.

Well, technically I finished it nine days ago, and life’s been a bit mad since then. I say mad, I mean more trying to survive on a bowl of pasta or rice a day and spending days at a time in my room, playing on my Xbox or reading Deadpool comics. Fucking love Deadpool. A week in bed is a good way to spend time, seeing as come the end of this month, I won’t get to do that again, probably for the rest of my life.

I have to admit, I have mixed feelings about finishing uni.

On the one hand, I’ve finished with a course that was a complete waste of my time, boring, and ultimately pointless. Who’d have thought that at twenty two years of age I would still be sitting exams like I did when I was sixteen? That’s uni for you. I no longer have to worry about assignments or coursework or lectures with stuffy old monkeys trying to explain why their lecture slides haven’t been changed in the last decade and why they’ve been teaching us the wrong stuff. Soon enough, I’ll be out of a house that’s mostly filled with people I really don’t like, best mate being an exception of course.

Speaking of which, he came home yesterday, which is nice. I don’t have to put up with boring, infuriating idiots by myself anymore. Plus he promised food. I like food.

Another bonus of finishing uni is that I can finally try to make something of myself, be it in terms of writing or a worthwhile job that I enjoy.

But then, it’s kind of a negative as well.

Seeing as I was a teenager when I was forced to choose what career path I would take for the rest of my life, I made a mistake. I don’t want to work in Psychology. I understand humans, I can get inside their heads, I can make them better or I can fuck them up royally. But it’s not something I want to do as a career. Fuck that.

I did a placement on Clinical Psychology last year, and it was absolutely pants. Not only was my boss a massive moron, but she never gave me any work to do. Kind of a pointless placement really. The impression I got was that all you did was a routine inspection and then a lot of paper work. No thanks.

But, seeing as that is what I have a degree in, other career options are few and far between. Oh well, Zoo it is. I’ll get there.

Leaving the house is going to be sort of negative as well. Even though I don’t like three quarters of them, and the house is ALWAYS a mess, and even though I miss my mother and dogs and nephew, it’s going to suck massively moving back home for an indefinite period of time.

I did it last year, lived home for a year after two being independent. I hated it.

I had no desk, a terrible, uncomfortable bed that does nothing for blissful sleep but exacerbates my already shitty back problems, and I have to live with a crotchety old fart, put up with a slut of a sister, live in the middle of nowhere when all my mates are elsewhere.

But, with some luck, I won’t be there for long. I’ll get me a job, save as much money as I can, and move on and get a better job. Here’s hoping.

I’ll miss my mates at uni. I’ll miss spending days lazing around, doing what I want. I’ll miss my super comfy bed. But really, this is the start of something new. So here’s hoping I make it out okay.

Leave a comment