Captain RiffRaff’s Top Ten Creepypastas

I LOVE horror. Horror films, horror stories, anything to do with the spooky and the supernatural, the horrifying and the horrible, the shocking and the downright shit-your-pants scary. Some of my fondest memories are sitting with friends in the dead of night, trying to scare each other with stories and whathaveyou.

So I decided to compile my own favourite scary stories from around the internet. I’ll warn you now, there are spoilers for each, so don’t read the descriptions if you don’t know the pasta.

Okay, here we go!

10 – Mr. Widemouth

A reasonably short story about a poorly child who makes friends with something called Mr. Widemouth. He keeps the child company and plays games with him, but those games start to become a bit sinister, and ultimately dangerous. Mr Widemouth wants the child to come into the woods with him to play more games, but the child, now frightened of him, decides not to. The family moves away and the child grows up. Eventually he returns to the house and recalls Mr. Widemouth, and follows the path that he was once told to go down. At the end of it is a graveyard full of children’s graves.

It’s a nice story, not overly frightening but it does put you on edge. Makes you wonder why a well-behaved child suddenly does something really naughty…

Rum Rating: 5/10

9 – Smile.Dog

Set up beautifully to creep you out, Smile Dog tells the story of a cursed picture that haunts you in your dreams if you see it. It’s a reasonably well-told story, and putting the picture in question at the end of the tale is the perfect creep to seal the fate of the gullible. Simple yet effective, Smile Dog is creepy if you’ve not seen it before, and though the picture is scary, the freak wears off after a while.

Rum Rating: 6/10

8 – Squidward’s Suicide

Fantastic description and exquisite detail make for one creepy creepypasta. The added nostalgia and familiarity with Squidward makes this story more easily relateable, and therefore more freaky. It’s a lost episode creepypasta, with some very disturbing imagery thrown into it. It was one of the first creepypastas that I read, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Though it no longer scares me (let’s face it, hardly any CrPa’s scare me any more) it’s still a well written, very sad, very disturbing piece of literature, and an old favourite I come back to. Though after the first time it doesn’t scare, that first time is one to remember.

Rum Rating: 8/10

7 – Psychosis 

Psychosis questions the very reality of life. Are we being spied on? Are we being controlled? It’s a longish creepypasta, but it’s well written and the descent into “madness” is portrayed expertly. The ending is brilliant, but you have to really get into the story to appreciate the ending. It’s also a very good reason to never leave your flat.

Rum Rating: 7/10

6 – The Portraits

A nice, short creepypasta about a man who gets lost in the woods and finds an empty cabin to spend the night in. The cabin is filled with very angry looking portraits and he struggles to sleep. He eventually drifts off and in the morning, sees the walls of the room are dotted with small windows.

It’s short, it’s simple, and it’s very effective. It gives you a jolt the first time you read it, and the shortness of it means it’s easy to remember and tell round a campfire. It’s brilliant.

Rum Rating 7/10

5 – Suicidemouse .avi

I think this was the first creepypasta I ever read. It’s a good read, similar in vein to Squidward’s Suicide. It’s the video that makes it though, it shit me up for weeks. It’s definitely worth checking out. I’ll put a link to the video HERE but don’t watch it until you’ve read the story.

Rum Rating 7/10

4 – Ben Drowned

One of my favourite creepypastas, Ben Drowned is a very long, very well written tale of a haunted game cartridge that terrorises the player. Buying Majora’s Mask from a yard sale, the protagonist is soon traumatised by the abnormal and freaky gameplay. The accompanying videos of the supposed gameplay give this creepypasta a very real feel, and they are spooky as shit. The fact I’m a bit of a Zelda nut and MM is one of my favourite Zelda games of all time made this all the more scary for me. It was a delight to read and watching the videos as well gave me chills. It’s a fantastic creepypasta and a must read if you’re a gamer.

Rum Rating 8/10

3 – White With Red

I adore this creepypasta. It’s another short and simple one with a a big fright once you realise what’s going on. It took me a second to figure it out when I first read it, and I swear I nearly had a heart attack. It’s brilliant in every sense of the word, and again, it’s one of those you can easily tell round a campfire for a good scare. Love it.

Rum Rating 9/10

2 – Candle Cove

Written in the style of an internet discussion group, a group of similarly aged adults discuss a TV show they used to watch as children, with their recollections becoming steadily darker as they go on. The ending is pure gold, and I won’t spoil it for you. Follow the link and shit your pants, this diamond it my go-to if I want a quick fix.

Rum Rating: 9/10

1 – The Devil Game

Perhaps this is in my number one spot because I found it most recently, or maybe it’s because it compiles all of my favourite elements of a scary story in one. It has wonderful narrative that keeps your attention throughout. It’s a decent length; long, but not too long. It involves the occult and the devil, two aspects that I love. All that’s missing is a ghost and a curse and you’ve got my perfect recipe for my ultimate creepypasta. But this doesn’t need them, it’s perfect by itself. I LOVE ritual pastas, because you can try this shit out yourself for added scares. And that ending. THAT ENDING. I loved it. I won’t spoil any of it for you, because it’s just too good. Get your butt over to the page and read it. Lights out, no noise. I give this spectacular piece a Rum Rating of ten out of ten.

(Note: the author has slapped a daft disclaimer on it. It really ruins the atmosphere so if you want a scary story, don’t read the disclaimer, just skip it and read the story.)

Peg Leg Bum Awards:

Jeff the Killer – A poorly written tale about some kid who beats some other kids up and likes it. He then gets beaten up in turn and his face is burned off. He goes bananas, cuts off his eyelids and slices his face into a big smile then murders his whole family, telling them to “go to sleep”. Granted, the picture is creepy as fuck, but the story itself is crap on a stick and I have no idea why it’s so insanely popular. The same can be applied to Twishite.

Slenderman – I used to love Slenderman. He was an unknown, a creepy, tall, faceless guy in a black suit who kidnapped and killed kids. No one knew anything about him, so he was scary. Slenderman became the new Bogeyman. But over the past couple of years, he exploded over the internet and became extremely well known. More stories were written, videos were made, even games were made about him. And as such, he stopped being scary. You know those films where you hardly see the monster? That’s scarier than seeing the monster plain as day isn’t it? Same applies to Slenderman. He’s too in your face, and he’s more a celebrity than a terrifying entity.

Leave a comment